Which is the best Nespresso?

2

March 3, 2014 by Beans Ahoy

Nespresso have done exceptionally well at marketing their coffee, to the point where the brand name has become almost a byword for espresso coffee. So I am often asked…”what’s the best?”

Difficult question, and not because I can’t decide on my favorite (which is Rosabaya), but because tastes in coffee vary so much. To combat this problem I have decided to ofter my opinion on the best Nespresso coffee from each ‘family’.

For those of you who don’t know, Nespresso comes in 6 families. Intenso, Espresso, Lungo, Decaffeinato, Pure Origin and Variations. Now first things first, I will not be telling you (a) which Decaffeinato coffee is best, because coffee without caffeine is like a summer holiday without the sun, and (b) I won’t be telling you which Variation is best, because, well, I think they’re all rubbish and deciding between them would be like deciding which of Cinderella’s ugly sisters is prettiest. So the coffees remaining in contention are:

Intenso
Kazaar
Dharkan
Ristretto
Arpeggio
Roma

Espresso
Livanto
Capriccio
Volluto
Cosi

Lungo
Fortissio Lungo
Vivalto Lungo
Linizio Lungo

Pure Origin
Indriya from India
Rosabaya De Colombia
Dulsao Do Brasil
Bukeela Ka Ethiopia

There you have it. The *almost* complete range of Grand Cru’s. So which is best? To tell you the truth, the most difficult category was the Intenso. A year ago the answer would have been easy, but since then Nespresso has launched two new coffees into that range. The Dharkan and the Kazaar, both of which are better than the others in the range. This time however it is the Kazaar that clinches the win by a whisker (https://beansahoy.wordpress.com/2013/11/08/nespresso-kazaar/). Why? I liked the peppery taste over the tongue, the different approach to strong coffee than just darker roasting and to be honest it just caught my attention more than Dharkan.

In the Espresso category: Livanto, for its all encompassing profile, adaptability and consistent aroma and taste.

In the Lungo category: Linizio Lungo, for the simple fact that I can drink it at 6 in the morning and it will deliver the caffeine without stripping the lining from my mouth. Seriously however, it has the most rounded flavour of the group with the right balance of sweetness and acidity.

In the Pure Origin category: Rosabaya, it’s no secret that I like this coffee. It’s nutty and complex profile makes it probably the best Nespresso out there…that is until they bring back Kona special reserve.

2 thoughts on “Which is the best Nespresso?

  1. Bear says:

    Arpeggio
    Livento
    Linizio
    Rosabaya

    • Amal Khalil Saba says:

      I am a big fan of the rosabaya too. When I tried all the different coffee capsules that came complementary with my delonghi nespresso machine. Rosabaya was my favorite and that’s all I’ve been ordering since. However, I tried the new santander (this one similar to rosabaya but not the same) and the bukeela(completely different, but I still loved it. It reminded me of the aromas escaping from my Ethiopian neighbors’ house whenever they opened their door…. Very distinct).

Leave a Reply

