Nespresso Kazaar

Leave a comment

November 8, 2013 by Beans Ahoy

Ladies and Gentlemen, hello. After a rather lengthy hiatus from Beans Ahoy I am back and have decided to kick off this new post with an article on Nespresso Kazaar. Okay okay, I admit, I am so late to the Kazaar game that they are already starting the penalty shoot-outs, but I digress.

Who knows where the name comes from? It sounds like something a charging Red Coat would shout at some muddy rebel in a bush. That is certainly what it feels like in your mouth. In fact it feels like the entire Battle of Waterloo going on in your mouth. Amazingly, and somewhat perplexingly, it has an intensity of 12…out of 10. It is a bit like those people who say they give a 110% in their work. They don’t. They give 100% because that it as much as you can give and therefore the maximum capable of being given, and therefore 100% of your efforts. I digress again. What I am saying though is that it is a face slapping, hair curling, tour de force in your mouth. Here is the surprising thing however, it’s not bad because of it.

I have in the past not gotten on with Ristretto. I find it too pungent with that over powering aroma of cheap robusta that gives me a headache. Kazaar is different though and although it has a higher concentration of robusta, it is actually more pleasant. It is bitter, but in a softer way, more pepper and spice, than acrid acidity. There is a richer and more complex tone to Kazaar than there is to Ristretto and personally I prefer it…even if I do hate the fact that it is 12 out of 10 on the ‘intensity scale’.

There is a strange mix to this coffee. I had been told before tasting it, incorrectly, that it was a blend of robusta’s. However when I tasted it I was certain there was Arabica present. It was virtually impossible to tell where the Arabica came from, but Java region could be dismissed immediately. Despite this, there was a noticeable rounding of the edges to this coffee that I had not experienced in other high robusta content coffees.

I have subsequently discovered that Kazaar does contain Arabica and that it is a mixture of Brazilian and Guatemalan robustas with a hint of ‘South American’ Arabica thrown in for good measure.

So there it is, a coffee of fortitude. Some blogs I have read have praised the coffee for being superb and sexy, praising its bitterness, and while many more discerning drinkers will dismiss this as a sign of inferior coffee Kazaar I would say, is worth a try. It might work well to replace your Ristretto although admittedly I have not yet tried it as a cappuccino. Best keep it as an espresso for when your guests are looking tired after a dinner party and still have a two hour drive home.

Tasting notes:

Bold, big, bitter but richer than most robusta’s. American’s will love it. A hint of the flavours you got from Trieste (A Nespresso special edition). A strong, largely unclear aroma but with a peppery and smoky smooth taste. It’s not the finest of coffees, but is worth a try. 5.8/10

Leave a Reply

